Finished my grille emblem install

grille emblem on car

I put out a request back in early November for a 3D print file for the grille emblem, and since none seemed to be available, Andrea from Italy produced a file for me.  After some modifications and getting certified to run the Maker Bot Replicator 2 printer at our library, I printed my own emblem and installed it onto my tow hook cover last week. After cleaning the car, I was able to take a photo of the finished product today.

If you are interested in the back story of this project, or downloading the 3D print file, see my original post here.

boddle88 used my stl file and printed one for his Lusso in the UK  ⇓

132d7ded4b148631063d2f4c9c3f52e0

5 thoughts on “Finished my grille emblem install

    • No, I’m thinking that it might be best to just make the .stl file available to my blog readers for free. The Mopar version is obviously a superior product, and not knowing how the plastic is going to hold up to UV and the elements, I think it would be best for the vehicle owner to take all the risk. If I were to sell these, and a few years later these things degrade, I would feel bad enough without being also accused of selling inferior plastic emblems.

      It only costs about $0.25 in Polylactide (PLA, a corn-based thermoplastic) material to make these, so I figure, if it doesn’t hold up, I’ll just print another one 🙂

      Anyways, when I set the part up at Ponoko to sell like Sergey does for the acrylic windblockers, they would only 3D-print in one color (black or ivory), and this was their quote to produce the part (the plastic is better quality than PLA though):

      Durable Gloss ABS Plastic (same plastic as Lego blocks)
      Color: Black
      Size: 101.6 x 19.7 x 6.0 mm
      Volume: 7.52 cm³
      Making: $16.38
      Material: $5.47
      Total: $21.85

      Kind of ridiculous if you ask me. Does anyone know of a online 3D print service that can produce ABS parts at a reasonable cost?

      Like

Leave a Reply

